be careful what you wish for…

“Disappointments are just God’s way of saying, ‘I’ve got something better.’ So be patient, have faith and live your life.”

Ah, the inspirational quote – a beacon of hope that can also serve as the thorn in one’s side, it was also the catalyst for this blog.

You see, my younger sister always says I live my life with a sense of urgency – always in a rush, never taking enough time to stop and smell the proverbial roses. For some reason, I always have this feeling that if I don’t hurry I’ll miss something.

And 2012 was no different. What started as an emotionally stressful year filled with anxiety and uneasiness ended as one that brought disappointment and frustration. By the New Year’s Eve, I was ready to say goodbye to the prior year with as much urgency as I’m sure the passengers of that stranded U.S. cruise ship were to disembark, throwing in a defiant flip of the bird for good measure.

So, as is my habit when the going gets rough, and after I had had my fill of sucking out, I put on my big girl pants and resolved that the new year should be one in which I would to take life as it comes, have faith that things would work out and – this would be the toughest hill to climb – be patient.

As that symbolic clock struck midnight to usher in a new year filled with hopeful possibilities, I felt ready to put my resolution to the test. And, in its own small way, The Universe tested me every so often. Luckily I had developed coping skills to the uncomfortable stimuli that would inevitably come to pass. Just close my eyes, take a deep breath and remember Mary Kay’s mantra “you can only eat an elephant one bite at a time”.

That pile of paperwork on my desk? I would read, review and edit one at a time. The urgent pinging of incoming emails? Again, one at a time. At the end of the day, they would all get answered, forwarded or deleted. And if they weren’t, there would always be tomorrow. It would be okay.

At the same time, I began to feel the effects of Canadian cabin fever. At first, coming home from work every night and hibernating under a blanket while the crackle of a fire popped nearby seemed like a luxury. But as the GTA was host to more snow in less than a month than it had in almost the last few years combined, I started to feel suffocated.

I yearned to break free from the every day routine, and looked ahead for any signs of an adventure. I hadn’t been on a plane in almost three years and just wanted to get away – to leave the nose running, pink cheek-inducing cold behind. Plus, I felt like something was missing. A few years before I had been a religious blogger and, although I knew I wanted to get back into the game, I had no idea what to write about.

They say be careful what you wish for… and for good reason!  On the last day of February I embarked on what was intended to be a work conference. The plan was to fly to St. John’s, Newfoundland on a Thursday for two days of classes, luncheons and stage productions, flying back home on the Sunday.

Little did I know it would be the beginning of an experience that would test my resolution and open up a whole new world of possibilities.

Let the adventure begin…

One thought on “be careful what you wish for…

  1. Good read girl – and thanks for the shout-out sister! Though you forgot to add that I also proclaim that you have a firecracker up your bum 🙂

Leave a Reply

