practicing what you preach

“Teamwork makes the dream work.” ~ Unknown

I love my husband. He’s handy around the house, can make me laugh until tears roll down my cheeks and he can cook too! His specialties are roasts, chili, meat of any kind and, of course, BBQ. But, and this might come as a bit of a surprise since he’s a certified pork chop, he can make a mean pizza. He manages to combine the right amount of Italian seasoning with pizza sauce, cheese and an array of toppings, made to order.

IMG_4487

But, and as much as I love him, he has a memory like sieve. He can run a job site with calculated precision, but ask him to remember a birthday or what we’re doing on the weekend (even if you ask on a Friday) and he’ll look at you with worried eyes and a hesitant smile (dimple included).

So it came as no big surprise the other day when I went to grab my lunch in the kitchen before work and didn’t see the pizza dough (the same one we had talked about the night before) defrosting in the sink. While I do admit I hesitated for a mere moment before opening the freezer to take it out myself, I took a breath and mentally said “no, if you really want to change, this is the first step”. So, without judgment or resentment, I transferred the frozen dough to the awaiting sink so it could be transformed into a yummy dinner that night.

The funny thing? I received a text around 2 p.m. that day – hubby had remembered he had forgotten to take the pizza dough out of the freezer and asked if I had, probably with a slight sense of hesitation, in fear of the typical response. The exchange went like this…

Hubby: “Hi Hun. Did you happen to take the dough out this morning? I forgot again. :(”
Me: “I sure did… We are a team, after all. 🙂 But kudos for remembering.”

You know what the best part of the exchange was? No one got frustrated or had hurt feelings. We were both hoping for the same outcome, a yummy pizza for dinner, so why not work together to achieve it? I knew that if I really want to change my mindset, the first step was changing my response and, in turn, my actions. By putting the theories about teamwork I had so passionately blogged about to work, the end result was a positive one.

And here’s another thing… which I recall as I write this. Last week we had a group of friends over and guess what was on the menu? Pizza. Hubby had to work, which left me home alone all day, glued to my computer watching back-to-back episodes of Downton Abbey, which led me to forget to take the dough out in the morning to defrost.

He could have gotten frustrated, irritated or, instead of putting his work boots back on after a long Saturday working in mud and dirt, told me to get in my car and go to the grocery store to pick one up. But he didn’t. He cut me some slack and picked up the ball I had dropped.

And isn’t that what it’s all about? That and being careful with how quickly you jump to react to the actions of others because, as soon as you do, it’s going to come back to bite you in the ass with the sting of red, hot chili peppers… which just happen to be tasty on a pizza!

Leave a Reply

